Blog

Week 5 Update

It’s week 5, and it feels like I’ve been here for several months already. Not that this is a bad thing, I’ve simply settled in well and have been incredibly busy.

So, I thought I’d take a little bit of time out from my many assessments to make a note of how things are going at Uni so far.

The pressures of having 6 assessments on the go at once is starting to take its toll, deadlines are creeping up, and I’m feeling the consequences of eating barely any fruit or veg for the first 3-4 weeks of being here.

I’m constantly tired, run down, and can’t seem to shift the tail end of ‘freshers flu’. However, I’m making good progress with my assessments, and I’m trying my best to keep on top of the workload. As of yet, I’ve not felt too much stress.

My first assessment for our ‘The Write Approach’ module requires me to write 4 original stories, either local, or topical with a “local twist”. I’ve managed to find 5 potential stories and am working on getting interviews for them, the first of which I secured last week – and what a feeling that was!

The second assessment for this module is a 1000 word feature, again, either local or topical with that twist. So far I have one or two potential features, however, I need to do the research for each and decide on which to use based on the amount of material I gather. The other may be usable as one of my four stories, or simply “archived” to use at a later date.

The next assessment, due in a week today, is for our “Intro to Audio” module, which required us to work in small groups and gather vox pops on a specific topic. Vox pops are audio clips, usually used on radio shows, when a presenter goes out into the public to ask passers by to voice their opinion on something. My group has gathered our clips and are in the process of editing – I’m hoping to have mine complete, with studio-recorded cue, and submitted by Thursday or Friday at the latest.

The other 3 assessments aren’t concerning me too much at the moment – they’ve been set aside while I work on the ones mentioned above as they’re hand-in dates are later in the term.

I also went back home last weekend. It was so surreal to be back in my house, in my own bed, to be able to have a bath… It really is incredible how much we take for granted when we live at home. Every second I had at home last weekend was spent with my parents, and how precious that time was. While I don’t feel overly homesick most of the time, I am incredibly grateful for my family, and (as bad as this may sound), in being 4 hours away from them, I appreciate them so much more.

As for the social aspect of things, my flat have become a lovely little family, we all get on well (for the most part), and there are plenty of nights out coming up. Thursday night will be the Uni’s official Halloween night out, held across 10 venues with guest DJs and acts in each.

To conclude, I’m loving my new little home from home, my “uni fam” and “course fam” are amazing, and I’m still in love with my course. All in all, I’m in pretty happy (and working bloody hard!).

Sprinkles Gelato is my new favourite place
Sprinkles Gelato is my new favourite place
The Uni Fam
The Uni Fam
Multimedia Journo Ladies
Multimedia Journo Ladies
Radio Studio fun
Radio Studio fun
Course bonding
Course bonding
My little home from home
My little home from home
Leave a Reply

