Blog

Migraines be gone!?

I’ve been suffering with migraines for around 3-4 years now, and since coming to Uni they’ve been increasingly unpredictable.

For a while, I was able to predict when I was going to get one; this time last year, I was getting a migraine every 12 days like clockwork, but now there’s not really any way of telling when my next one is going to hit.

I’ve tried pretty much everything to keep them at bay – I’ve cut out known trigger foods and drinks (chocolate, ice cream, alcohol, caffeine, etc), I’m seeing a chiropractor fairly regularly, I keep hydrated to the best of my ability, I don’t use hairsprays/dry shampoos because they trigger my migraines too, I’m always very aware of my body temperature, as if I get too hot, guess what? Yup! I get a bloody migraine. The list goes on and on.

I’ve found there are a few things that really help when I actually have a migraine; migraleve, migrastick (a roll-on sold in Holland and Barrett which contains peppermint and lavender essential oils), sleeping and salt (don’t ask because I really don’t know how or why it works, and neither do any of the doctors I’ve seen) are the top four.

I thought I’d found a great solution when I was switched from Propanolol to Amitryptaline. But over the last few weeks, even since upping my dose to 2 tablets a night, I’ve found that the miracle effect is wearing off. So, I decided to finally take the plunge and get a Daith piercing.

I read about them first probably just over a year ago, and I’ve been doing extensive research since. For a long while I totally disregarded it as an option because the people who had spoken out about their experiences with it, and the studies that had been done at that point, basically said that there was no real evidence that it helped.

But the more people are trying, the more people are coming forward and saying its massively reduced if not completely stopped their migraines.

IMG_3362.JPGNow, I’m a total baby when it comes to needles and pain, so this wasn’t a decision I threw myself into, but I went for it anyway, as you can see on the left.

Since a lot of the decision making for me was influenced by other people’s blogs and vlogs about their experience and progress with their Daith piercing, I thought I’d do the same.

RESULTS

So I got the piercing on Friday (24th Feb ’17) and MY GOD did it hurt. I had prepared myself for some serious pain because it’s a thick bit of cartilage, but it REALLY HURT.

It’s a bloody git to pierce, and the woman who did mine (I went to Asgard in Southampton) had to basically do it in stages – put it in, take it out, wriggle it around, put it in further, etc. And I could really feel it. Out of 10 I would probably say it was about a 7. It wasn’t unbearable but I certainly wouldn’t do it again.

But for anyone who’s thinking of getting it done, don’t let that put you off. It was pretty damn sore and burned for the rest of the day, but I managed to sleep on it that night without much discomfort, and it’s generally only painful now when I’m cleaning it or if I have to move the hoop around (cause it tends to shift during the night and the ball get pushed up against the hole).

It’s now Sunday, so it’s been about 45 hours since I had it done. As you can see from the picture, there’s not really any swelling, it’s not particularly red, so far so good! There’s generally a little bit of dry blood in the mornings when I clean it, and a tiny bit in the evenings (I’m cleaning it twice a day for now because I really don’t want to aggravate it while it’s still a bit tender).

I had a MAJOR migraine yesterday. I use the Migraine Buddy app to keep track of them, and it allows me to record where the migraine started (eyes, back of neck, etc), symptoms, and other stuff including a pain rating. Yesterday’s migraine got up to a 9/10, which is the highest I’ve rated one since using the app. I couldn’t do anything – I literally slept all day because I couldn’t bare any noise or light. Pain wise it was probably on par with the 8s I’ve had before, but a lot of the time I can sleep for a few hours and then manage to half-watch TV with the brightness right down. But not this time!

Anyway, back to the point! I can’t say one way or the other whether or not the piercing caused or added to the migraine in any way as I also had my first chiro appointment in over two months on Friday, and it’s definitely a hormone-related migraine to some extent, too. While the chiro appointments have been a massive help in releasing the pressure in my neck that builds up from stress and migraine attacks, it can be sore afterwards and I did get a migraine from the very first appointment I had, so I wasn’t too concerned.

So for the moment, I can’t say whether it’s helping at all. But I expected it to not be of any positive effect for the first few weeks of healing anyway, just because I’m generally not great with pain and piercings I’ve had in the past have taken some time to heal.

I’ll post another update at the two week mark, on Friday 10th March! So stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

